Uncategorized

No hassle low FODMAP Thai green curry

Firstly, huge apologies that this is my first new recipe post in a good while. I have had so much going on; with a death in the family, another seriously ill, and moving house – essentially twice – as we had to put our effects in storage and live with my in laws for what turned out to be five weeks.

Things are finally settling down now though and while I’ve been playing around with this Thai green curry recipe ever since I first embarked on the low FODMAP diet, I finally feel like it’s ready to share with you all.

I love Thai and Indian curries and so my first priority when I started this diet was to make low FODMAP versions ASAP so I didn’t feel like I was missing out on my favourite meals. However, while I struck on a winning low FODMAP Indian curry adaptation very quickly, it has taken me a lot longer to get, not just the balance of flavours, right for this Thai curry – but to find the right ingredients to include that will last between making one curry… from the tenth curry. I hate food waste and like to be able to rustle up a curry at short notice should the fancy take me!

This curry packs in all the flavours you need to make an authentic, fresh tasting Thai curry, but without the hassle – and often great expense too!

Serves 2

Ingredients:
FOR THE CURRY PASTE
1/2 tsp ginger paste (I use Barts fresh ginger paste)
1/2 tsp galangal paste (again, I use the Barts one)
1/2 tsp lemongrass paste (I use Very Lazy lemongrass paste)
Handful of fresh coriander (you can use frozen coriander if you don’t have any fresh but the taste really is more vibrant with the fresh herb. Sadly dried coriander does not give the same taste at all)
1 tsp frozen red chillies (I use Waitrose Cooks’ Ingredients frozen chopped red chilli. These are jalapeno chiilies which aren’t the authentic Thai sort but I find they work well for my purpose)
Pinch of salt
Generous seasoning of black pepper
1/4 tsp asafoetida
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp cumin powder
1/2 tsp ground turmeric
1 tbsp chilli infused oil
1 tbsp garlic infused oil

ADDITIONAL INGREDIENTS
Handful of dried kaffir lime leaves
250g of tinned coconut milk
100ml low FODMAP chicken stock or plain boiled water
2 chicken breasts
[optional 180g raw jumbo prawns]

To serve with: brown rice or vermicelli noodles, plus more fresh coriander to garnish

Method:
Put all the curry paste ingredients into a blender and whizz up. Add the mixture to a wok with the handful of dried kaffir lime leaves and heat up for a few minutes so that the spices and oils release their flavour. Add in the coconut milk and low FODMAP chicken stock or plain boiled water, ensuring all the coconut has melted. Chop up the chicken breasts and add in to cook through (approx. 15-20 minutes). If serving with prawns, add them in with 5 minutes to spare to ensure they to cook through thoroughly.

Serve with brown rice or vermicelli noodles and fresh coriander to garnish.

Leave a comment